Crafts Law Inc.
Ignition Interlock Device
Penalties for Drinking & Driving in Boise
Some DUI penalties are done to punish. Others are done to educate and prevent future offenses. One of the penalties designed to help limit habitual repeat offenders is known as the ignition interlock device (IID). This is basically a small machine the size of a cell phone which is installed into the engine of a vehicle. The purpose is simple - to not allow someone to get behind the wheel while drunk. How does it accomplish that? Simply by requiring a breath test any time someone goes to start the vehicle. The threshold for BAL is set at 0.05 percent; if the breath sample is below this threshold, the vehicle will start. If, however, the blood alcohol level of the breath sample is above 0.05 percent, the vehicle will simply sit idly.
There are also several safeguards put into place to help cut down on the possibility of the driver having a friend provide the breath sample before driving away. While driving, the device will require several "rolling tests" at random unannounced intervals. If a clean sample is provided, there will be no issues. If a sample is given that has too high of BAC, the device will set off an alarm (lights, noise, etc.) that will not stop until the car is pulled over to a safe area and the engine cut off. Any time a sample is given with too high of a BAC, the event will be recorded and printed out for the proper authorities to look over and deal with accordingly.
Will I Need to Have an IID Installed in My Car?
According to Idaho Statutes §316.193, ignition interlock devices are required to be installed in the vehicles of certain individuals who are convicted of a DUI. For someone convicted of a first time conviction, it may be required if court ordered. If the BAC was over 0.15 at the time of the arrest or if there was a minor in the car, it will be required for at least six months. For a second DUI conviction, it will be required for at least a year, unless BAC was over 0.15 percent or if there was a minor in the car - in those cases, it will be installed for at least two years. For a third conviction, it will be required for at least two years. For a fourth or subsequent conviction, it will be required for at least five years with the condition of a hardship license.
In Ada County, the IID vendor which has been selected by the department is Alcohol Countermeasure Systems Corp. which works with Alcolock products. It is important to note that the installation of an ignition interlock device does not only go into one car - it must go into every single car that is either solely or jointly owned or leased by the convicted. It is also completely user-funded, meaning that you will need to foot the entire bill.
How Much Exactly Will It Cost?
The Idaho Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) notes that the costs that the defendant will absorb include the following:
- Interlock Fee - $12
- Installation - $75
- Monthly Monitoring / Calibration - $72.50
- Refundable Deposit - $100 or Monthly Insurance Charge - $5
If you are unable to afford this, there are certain situations where the court may allow for a portion of your fine to pay for the installation and maintenance of the device. If you have questions about the installation of an IID in your vehicle or if you would like to discuss your case with a knowledgeable Boise DUI defense attorney, contact Boise Advocate, P.A. today.